Wade L. Hoots Lecture Series

No nominations are being accepted at this time

In late 1984, the Board of Directors of the Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists, Inc. (TSRT) established “The Wade L. Hoots Lecture Series” to be presented during the Annual Meeting. This lecture series was established to recognize individuals’ contributions to the imaging profession and the outstanding professionalism and dedication as a lecturer and/or member.

Mr. Wade L. Hoots demonstrated professionalism in his daily work and in his endeavors with his professional society, TSRT. He was born in Matagorda County in 1941, attended the Bay City Public Schools and Wharton County Junior College. His professional career began at Jefferson Davis Hospital in Houston and Continued at Texas Institute for Research and Rehabilitation. In the early 80’s, he entered the commercial sales and was associated with Valcorp, Inc., until the time of his death in March of 1985.

Mr. Hoots served as President of TSRT in 1972. He continued serving in numerous capacities and assumed the duties of the Annual Meeting Planner in 1975 for serveral years. He will remain the example of a dedicated member and imaging professional.

There were 30 medals made for this lecture series. The last presentation was done in 2019. This award is being revamped to restore and emphasize the grandeur and exceptional achievement it is. The TSRT Executive Board and Committee are dedicated to reintroducing this award to our Society.

The following are individuals who have been honored over the years as a Wade L. Hoots Lecturer:

1985 – Marilyn H. Sackett
1986 – Betty J. Shinn
1987 – Kay Nolen
1988 – Donna Shepherd
1989 – Gary Whitley
1990 – Carol Magee
1991 – Melvin Cobb
1992 – Sharon Coffey
1993 – Mona Martinez
1994 – Ray Meyers
1995 – Claude Harris
1996 – Cheryl Timm
1997- Not awarded*
1998 – Cleveland Black
1999 – Not awarded*
2000 – Charles Washington
2001 – Marie Racine
2002 – Not awarded*
2003 – Gaynell Gainer
2004 – Scott Morren
2005 – James Johnston
2006 – Rita Robinson
2007 – Not awarded*
2008 – Lois Lehman
2009 – Lynne Davis
2010 – Lisa Ganus
2011 – Valerie Martin
2012 – Cedric Jolivet
2013 – Smily Flores
2014 – Norman Burgess
2015 – Jeniesa Johnson
2016 – Sandra Hayden

2017 – *not awarded

2018 – Victoria Sanders

2019 – Brian Rich