The Edna M. Elliott Technologist Hall of Fame

Edna Elliott was the first Black American to graduate from Parkland’s School of Radiologic Technology in 1964. She continued to work at Parkland for over 30 years. She worked as a medical imaging professional. From 1984 to 1996, Edna was the Assistant Director of the very program in which she graduated. When the program closed in 1996, Edna ensured the students currently enrolled at the time successfully graduated. Mrs. Elliott retired from Parkland in the year 2000.

Mrs. Edna Elliott received her Bachelors Degree in Education in 1998. This was a degree she vowed to complete when she had to leave Prairie View A&M in 1961.

Mrs. Elliott was an active member of TSRT for over 30 years and served as the North Texas Area Counselor throughout the 1990’s.

Mrs. Elliott has influenced many medical imaging professionals in the Dallas-Fort Worth area and throughout the state of Texas. At the time of her death, Mrs. Elliott was doing what she did best, educating students. Edna was working as adjunct faculty in the Radiologic Technology Programs at El Centro College in Dallas and Tarrant County College in Hurst, Texas.

Due to membership request, the TSRT Professional Technologist Hall of Fame will henceforth be known as the:

Edna M. Elliott Technologist Hall of Fame

Nominees for this award represent the dedication and professional aptitude necessary to advance our profession. They help elevate our standards, articulate our value, and exceed expectations as professionals. Hall of Famers simultaneously demonstrate exceptional contributions in three (3) essential areas: professionalism, education, and advocacy.


1. Current member of the Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists Inc.

2. Must be credentialed in a medical imaging or radiologic science by a recognized credentialing agency

3. Must demonstrate professional involvement for at least ten (10) years of exceptional service

4. Exceptional service must be demonstrated in each of the three (3) primary areas: professionalism (clinical practice / career achievements), education (continuous learning / credentialing / professional development), and advocacy (professional involvement, organizational engagement, community efforts).

5. Must be nominated by a TXSRT member

The following technologists have been inducted into the Edna M. Elliot Technologist Hall of Fame which recognizes and celebrates the great achievements of technologists and therapists in our Great State of Texas. They give 100% of themselves to our patients, colleagues, and prospective professionals without boundary or limitations.

The Edna M. Elliot Technologist Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Ronda Allman – Huntsville
  • Shirlene Barnard – Houston B
  • Brenda Blackburn – Houston A
  • Mary Brock – Houston
  • Royce Burns – Huntsville
  • Chauncy Caddenhead
  • Christi Carter – Dallas
  • Patricia Cartwright – Lubbock
  • Robert DeGnath – Longview
  • Paul Dubiel – Austin
  • Ursula Dyer – Longview
  • Paul English – San Angelo
  • Joy Farris – Arlington
  • Lisa Ganus – Kilgore
  • Manuel Gomez, Jr. – Arlington
  • Michael Hart – Amarillo
  • Sandra Hayden – Houston
  • Steven Hirt – Midland
  • M. Faye Hofferth – Beaumont
  • Janie Jackson – Fort Worth
  • Cedric Jolivet – Houston
  • Charles Jones – Houston
  • Marilu Kameliski – Dallas
  • Angelita Lara – Victoria
  • Janet Lee – Wichita Falls
  • Valerie Martin – Dallas
  • Phyllis Martinez – Corpus Christi
  • Lauren McAtee – San Angelo
  • Cindy McKee – Wichita Falls
  • Mary Oliver – Pasadena
  • Eusebio Ortiz – Brownsville
  • Francis Ozor – Conroe
  • Winston Phillips – Houston
  • Paula Pickett – Beaumont
  • Charlotte Psenick – Cleburne
  • Glenda Redd – Lewisville
  • Mark Rowh – Amarillo
  • Cecelia Shelmon – Dallas
  • Andrea Shoults – Mesquite
  • Clifton Simoneaux – Nederland
  • Reba Taylor – Beaumont
  • Robert Valdez – Ingleside
  • Evelyn Walston – deer Park
  • Regina Welch – New Boston
  • Stephanie Wells – Farmers Branch
  • Louise Wiley – Kilgore
  • Dr. Stephanie Holden – Arlington
  • Georgette Shepherd – Houston

We are proud of each of our inductees. Continue to set an example of what it means to be a medical imaging or radiologic science professional. Stay dedicated to your profession. We are proud of your achievements. Enjoy the recognition that is being bestowed on you because you deserve it.

Online Nomination Form for the Hall of Fame

Nomination Are Now Closed as of Feb. 29, 2020 at 11:59PM CST